Sunday, June 19, 2011

Jascha Heifetz: Wieniawski Polonaise No. 1


Jascha Heifetz plays Wieniawski Polonaise No. 1 in D Major, Op. 4, and is accompanied on piano by Emanuel Bay.

Henryk Wieniawski [1835– 1880] was a Polish violinist and composer. The first violin competition named after Wieniawski took place in Warsaw in 1935, where Ginette Neveu took first prize, David Oistrakh second, and Henri Temianka third.

The International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition has been held every five years since 1952. As it writes on its website:
In 1935, to commemorate our patron’s 100th birthday, his nephew Adam, himself a composer, started international meetings of young violin players in Warsaw. The honour of opening the list of laureates fell to the Frenchwoman Ginette Neveu (First Prize), whose career was to end so tragically in an air accident, the Russian David Oistrakh (Second Prize), whose subsequent role in the world of the violin would be tactless to remind, and the Englishman Henry Temianka (Third Prize). The list of laureates also featured Ida Haendel, Bronisław Gimpel, Grażyna Bacewicz and several others, whose artistic plans were thwarted by the war; as was the course of the event which had just had such a fine opening.
 This year marks its fourteenth competition, October 8-23, 2011, in Poznań, Poland.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comment Policy:

All comments will be moderated; and bear in mind that anonymous, hostile, vulgar and off-topic comments will not be published. Thoughtful, reasonable and clear comments, bearing your real name, will be. All comments must be in English.