Tuesday, October 11, 2011

David Oistrakh: Mozart Violin Concerto No. 5

David Oistrakh performing the first movement of the Mozart Violin Concerto No. 5, with the Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra, Yevgeny Mravinsky, conducting, in Vienna, Austria, on June 8, 1956. The second movement is here, and the third here.

Mravinsky held the post of principal conductor of the orchestra from 1938 to 1988, and under his guidance the orchestra achieved international status and recognition. In 1991, with the fall of communism, the orchestra returned to its original name, Saint Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra, founded in 1882 and Russia's oldest symphony orchestra.



  1. Pretty insightful. Thanks!

    My site:
    rachatdecredit www.rachatdecredit.net

  2. You pretty much said what i could not effectively communicate. +1

    My site:
    DSL Anbieter www.dslvergleichdsl.com


All comments ought to reflect the post in question. All comments are moderated; and inappropriate comments, including those that attack persons, those that use profanity and those that are hateful, will not be tolerated. So, keep it on target, clean and thoughtful. This is not a forum for personal vendettas or to create a toxic environment. The chief idea is to engage, to discuss and to critique issues. Doing so within acceptable norms will make the process more rewarding and healthy for everyone. Accordingly, anonymous comments will not be posted.