Monday, December 5, 2011

Marc-André Hamelin: Liszt's Tarantella

Marc-Andre Hamelin plays "Tarantella" by Franz Lisz, from Années de pèlerinage (Years of Pilgrimage), a set of three suites for solo piano. This is from the Italy pilgrimage or travels, which were composed as Venezia e Napoli (Venice and Naples), as a supplement to the Second Year. Liszt composed these pieces in 1859 and had it published in 1861. It fits within the Romantic tradition and the genre of self-actualization, which travel to foreign destinations was supposed to bring about.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comment Policy:

All comments will be moderated; and bear in mind that anonymous, hostile, vulgar and off-topic comments will not be published. Thoughtful, reasonable and clear comments, bearing your real name, will be. All comments must be in English.