Monday, April 30, 2012

Daniil Trifonov: Chopin Concerto No. 1

Daniil Trifonov performs Chopin Concerto No. 1 in E minor, opus 11, with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Asher Fisch conducting, at the 13th Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition Finals in 2011.

Each of the six finalists played a classical concerto. Daniil Trifonov won first prize, including a cheque for $25,000, at the 2011 competition.

The Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition was first held in September 1974, and is held every three years. Arthur Rubinstein, who was one of the jury members at the first two competitions, died in 1982. The next competition is scheduled for May 2014.

A point worth noting is that Russia continues to produce so many fine and talented classical pianists, in good times and in bad. Almost one-quarter (9 pianists) of the 37 pianists at this competition were from Russia, the most from any nation. The country is doing something right, at least musically, when it comes to training pianists.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comment Policy:

All comments will be moderated; and bear in mind that anonymous, hostile, vulgar and off-topic comments will not be published. Thoughtful, reasonable and clear comments, bearing your real name, will be. All comments must be in English.