Thursday, May 3, 2012

Martha Argerich & Evgeny Kissin: Mozart Sonata Four Hands

Martha Argerich and Evgeny Kissin perform the Mozart Piano Sonata for Four Hands in C Major, KV 521. [You can view part 2 here.] Both parts of this demanding duet are equally demanding, and each of these pianists is up to the task.

A mature W.A. Mozart [1756-1791] composed this piece. As one reviewer put it. "[T]he ultimate dedicatees were two daughters of a wealthy Viennese merchant, Babette and Marianne Nortrop. It was composed in 1787, the same year Mozart wrote Don Giovanni, as well as a couple of string quintets and the Eine Kleine Nachtmusik serenade. It is entered in Mozart's thematic catalogue the very day he heard of his father's death."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comment Policy:

All comments will be moderated; and bear in mind that anonymous, hostile, vulgar and off-topic comments will not be published. Thoughtful, reasonable and clear comments, bearing your real name, will be. All comments must be in English.