Saturday, November 24, 2012

Yefim Bronfman: Saint-Saëns' Piano Concerto No. 2

Yefim "Fima" Bronfman performs Camille Saint-Saëns' Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, opus 22, accompanied by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Kurt Sanderling [1912-2011]; Saint-Saëns completed the piece in 1868, when the composer himself was the soloist and Anton Rubinstein conducted the orchestra. Rubinstein is known for many things, not least of which is his founding of the Saint Petersburg Conservatory, the first music school in Russia, in 1862


No comments:

Post a Comment

Comment Policy:

All comments will be moderated; and bear in mind that anonymous, hostile, vulgar and off-topic comments will not be published. Thoughtful, reasonable and clear comments, bearing your real name, will be. All comments must be in English.