Sunday, June 23, 2013

Charles Ives:Symphony No. 2

Leonard Bernstein conducts the Second Symphony of the American composer Charles Ives (1874-1954), with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, in 1987. The second part can be viewed here; and the third part here. Although Ives composed this piece at the turn of the century (around 1900), it was Bernstein who first premiered this work a half-century later, in 1951, with the the New York PhilharmonicIves himself did not attend the performance but rather listened to it on a neighbour’s radio.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Comment Policy:

All comments will be moderated; and bear in mind that anonymous, hostile, vulgar and off-topic comments will not be published. Thoughtful, reasonable and clear comments, bearing your real name, will be. All comments must be in English.